A Short List of Things I Did Yesterday

  1. I learned how to say “my name is Gwen” in Greek (Με λενε Gwen, or “me-lene”) from instructor Maria Kalaitzopoulou.
  2. I took a walk on the upper campus of the American College of Thessaloniki.

    IMG_7722
    Dazzling views from ACT’s upper campus. 
  3. I watched other members of our team pitch their first stories, which for some of whom (including me) will be their first international reporting experience. Stay tuned for stories coming up on our team site soon!
  4. I had an attack of stress that I didn’t get to pitch my own story and didn’t feel prepared to start reporting.
  5. I started reporting.
  6. I took my first cab in Greece.
  7. Olivia Arnold and I went to the first day of Thessaloniki’s International Book Fair and spoke to publishers and booksellers about how Greece’s economic crisis has affected literary industry and culture (more on this coming soon!).

    IMG_7752
    Bookseller Katerina Pandelidou, co-owner of local fantasy, science fiction, and horror bookstore Unknown Kadath, works at her exhibition booth at the Thessaloniki Book Fair. 
  8. I figured out how to make my Greek phone work – which I bought yesterday for only 20 euros – so now I can contact Greek numbers for interviews. (I just had to turn it off and on again.)
  9. I took a sunset boat ride around Thessaloniki Bay with a large group of friends, something I’ve now decided I want to do every single day for the rest of the time we’re here.
    IMG_7805
    One of the shots I took of Aristotle Square during our boat ride. 
    IMG_7783
    And another of the sun setting over Thessaloniki Port, with silhouettes of ships visible in the distance. 

     

  10. I stayed up late sending emails to scientists who study sea turtles.

I think it was a pretty productive day.

Author: gschanker

I'm an aspiring science writer studying journalism and biology at Northeastern University and making my third - maybe fourth? - attempt at blogging.

1 thought on “A Short List of Things I Did Yesterday”

  1. I am really enjoying your blog, Gwen!!! It all looks beautiful! Were there any English books in the bookstore? Be interesting to know what the titles are. If you go back please look for a beautiful postcard or 2 for me. Bookstores usually have them. Lots of love from Nana.

    Like

Leave a Reply

